they both die at the end hardcover.jpg

“A bold, lovely, and haunting story of loss, hope, and the redeeming power of friendship.” — Lauren Oliver, author of Before I Fall

“It’s another standout from Silvera. Engrossing, contemplative, and as heart-wrenching as the title promises.”
Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“Over the course of an eventful day, these thoughtful young men speak honestly and movingly about their fate, their anger at its unfairness, and what it means to be alive, until their budding friendship organically turns into something more.”
Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Extraordinary and unforgettable.”
Booklist, Starred Review

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”

“Silvera continues to masterfully integrate diversity, disability, and young queer voices into an appealing story with a lot of heart. A must-have for YA shelves.”
School Library Journal, Starred Review

Purchase They Both Die at the End in hardcover from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Indiebound.
Purchase a signed They Both Die at the End in hardcover from Books of Wonder and request personalization in the comments section.